Early Childhood Education

visit Adventist Education website

We are admonished to teach the words of Holy Script "diligently unto thy children," and to "train up a child in the way he should go" (Matthew 6:33, Deuteronomy 6:7, and Proverbs 22:6, KJV).

Our Goal

The North American Division Early Childhood Developmental Standards outline benchmarks and skills that young children acquire during the birth-to-five-year period. These standards were developed through a Seventh-day Adventist world view across the birth-12 curricula with integration of research-based national and provincial/state standards. They are designed to provide direction in program planning and equipping so that teachers deliver instruction emphasizing Seventh-day Adventist goals, concepts, and values in a developmentally appropriate manner. Additionally, they support the development and well-being of the young child and enhance learning in five domains. Each domain contains standards with benchmarks and Example.

Early Childhood Developmental Standards

All Early Childhood Developmental Standards

PDFs for individual developmental domains:

Distribution and use of these documents is subject to the terms outlined in our use and privacy policies.
All content is copyrighted and may not be used without permission.